Iam a Freelancer and I don't recommend it to anyone

Adarsh gupta
4 min readOct 19, 2022

I made more than $1k in one year as an 18-year-old boy still…

A pic, Iam doing something foolish IDK

I started earning money on my own through freelancing.

But I don’t recommend doing it full-time.

Here are some thoughts that might help you with your career 🧵

The Story

I was broke actually, but yeah, how can a 17-year-old boy earn some 💵?

It was 2020, and then there was a lockdown, thanks to COVID.

First Few weeks, I spend time watching NetFlix (probably everyone)

But after a few days, I got “God’s Call” that I should not waste my time on entertainment purposes.

I started learning Web Development and after 6–7 months of building projects, I have a belief that I can do some good projects for others and earn some money.

The first option was applying for full-time jobs, But how can some company hire a guy who is 18 and has no previous “experience”

Freelancing was the only way for me.

I applied for a number of freelance gigs on Fiverr, Upwork, Freelancer, etc.

After a few weeks of rejection, I finally got an offer for $10.

--

--

Adarsh gupta

Software Engineer | JavaScript developer | Technical Writer . Work with me? adarshguptaworks@gmail.com Connect with me? twitter.com/adarsh____gupta/